top of page

The Start of a one-of-a-kind Experience: When Juan Meets the World


On-board in Plane        Photo by:Josh Sorenson from Pexels

“Everything in this world is worth trying.”



Before Departure at Manila

On the dawn of January 21, 5:05 am, together with four other MinSCATians, we started our journey to the beautiful country of Smiles, Thailand and just like other first time adventurers out there, we were filled with excitement and joy, especially when we think of the problems that we’d overcome during the preparation for this program. Personally, I even became so thrilled when I see the plane that we are about to board into, seeing its size makes me feel I was in cloud-nine. We took a flight in one of the airlines that is famous in my homeland. In there, I experienced what we called as Filipino hospitality and that is one of the things that I will miss in my country.


Touch down Bangkok, Thailand

From Manila to Bangkok, it took about four hours of travel and when we arrived at Suvarnabhumi Airport (BKK), 8:05 am, I experienced a bit intimidation, since this is not the country I am used to. Furthermore, we can’t barely understand what the airport personnels are saying. When we parted ways in the aforementioned airport, I make my own way in order to arrive at Chiang Rai International Airport, I asked different people; foreigners and even locals who can understand English and asked them for directions. In my quest for finding the right gate before my flight going to Chiang Rai, I observed that Filipinos and Thai have some sort of similarities (though I know that fact, we are Asian, and they say that we had the same ancestors), but still I can’t help myself from being amazed.


Food from the Good Samaritan

Finally, I got into the right gate where I’ve waited for almost an hour. When the boarding time has arrived, I boarded in the nice airliner and seated on the assigned seat. I was about to seat when I noticed that I was seating with two American citizens, (maybe they are couple), but I didn’t mind them at all since I'm quite exhausted at the very moment. I was waiting for the departure and in my wait, I can help myself from falling asleep, so I took a nap to gain my energy. When I woke up, I found something in front of me, its food. The American couple that I ignored before, have requested food for me from the attendant. I didn’t see that one coming. They say that I look pale and tired so they helped me for a bit. I was so thankful for them, because, in fact I’m indeed really tired and hungry. After I completely consumed the blessing in front of me, I manage to have a short talked with them. They tell me that Chiang Rai is a really great place and that makes my spirit high. When I got into the airport at around 3:45, everything the couple mentioned was awesomely true.


The English-speaking Thai

I took a little tour around the airport and it was super awesome. I’ve contacted my coordinator to fetch me, and after a bit of waiting, a driver fetch me and took me into the hotel that my coordinator had mentioned. At first, I kept myself from talking to the driver, because I thought he wouldn’t understand me, but in my surprised he can speak English. He asked me “How’s your travel?”. I managed to answer his question and then I found myself talking with him much.


When I got into the hotel at around 4:00 pm, the attendants gave me warm smiles that reminds me of my country. He gave me the key and assisted me to my room. I placed my stuffs nearby the bed. I took a little tour on the room. I lied in the bed and took a rest as for preparation for the night adventure I’m planning of.


The Best Vendor Ever

When I woke up, it’s already around 8:00pm, I felt starving, so I go outside to look for some food. They say that the Thai cuisine is something worth trying, so I tried to have a bowl of warm pad thai, (Thai’s version of Japanese ramen and Filipino mami) made of noodles with rich and flavourful chicken broth. As for the toppings, the noodles have pieces of pork and some herbs that I personally don’t know. Furthermore, I really loved the owner of the shop, for she exerted effort just to understand me and extend her service towards me as her customer. She

called for someone who can understand English. After the meal, I thank her and took my way back to the hotel and made a complete rest to gain back my energy.


The next morning, January 22 at around 7:30, I had my breakfast at the restaurant at the lobby. after a bountiful meal, I waited for the other SEA Teachers, greeted them and manage to have a short talk with them. And the rest of the day, is history I say.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page